A day of giving thanks.

On Friendship.

It’s Thanksgiving today and what better way to give thanks than laying it out on a blog right? Okay, so maybe not the best way. But this will have to do for now since I’ve got a lot on my mind.

I could have sat here all day and wished I was little bit taller, wished I was a baller, but I won’t because although my life isn’t so perfect at the moment, I have so much to be thankful for. Mostly, the basic things in life: a roof over my head, food at my table, a family who loves me, and the bestest friends a girl could ask for.

A couple of weeks ago I was reminded of how friendship is so important. Out of nowhere, I randomly remembered and thought about my dad’s best friend from the “old country”. We nicknamed her “Signora Metacos” and would always have a good chuckle every time we called her by that name because a) Signoria is “Mrs.” in Italian & neither of them are Italian and b) What the heck is a Metacos? Anyway, the two of them were the best of friends; always joking around, had telephone conversations about the most random of subjects several times a day, you name it. Kind of like how I am with my best friends. She passed away almost 10 years ago.

We knew something was wrong when she and my dad didn’t have their daily conversations for a few days. She had been sick with pneumonia for nearly a month and so we decided to drive up to her apartment near Oak Street hoping she was well. Unfortunately, the building manager informed us of the grave news. I remember clearly the drive back home. The 15 minute drive seemed about an hour as we just sat in our car in silence.

I’ve never told anyone this story before and my family and I haven’t brought her up in conversation since then. But Signoria Metacos was an important person in my life (I’ve known her since I was a baby) and in my dad’s. Although she was much older, 10 years his senior, they got along great and I can only imagine losing her was probably the most difficult things he had to go through in his life. He hasn’t found another friend quite as awesome as she was and the camaraderie between him and his other friends aren’t nearly as strong. This is why I am so grateful for the friends I have now.

 

Thank you for being a friend
Traveled down the road and back again
Your heart is true you’re a pal and a confidant

I know I don’t outwardly show my feelings as often as I should. But, you guys have no idea how much love and joy you have given me and the impact you have made on my life up to this day.

Below is a photo collage of the good times I’ve had with my buddies this year. If you’re not in the photo, then get with the program! Rather, I too should step my game up. After all, it takes two to tango.

To my old friends: Let’s start fresh. We got a lotta catching up to do.

To my new friends and acquaintances: Let’s make some memories, eh? I think it’s about time.

To my best friends: I can totally imagine us old, wrinkly and grey, rocking a pair of the funkiest nylon tracksuits and speed walking down the Kits Beach seawall while listening to some BSB (don’t try to hide it – y’all still love ‘em). Thanks for being there ya cheeseballs.

Peace and love and HAPPY TURKEY DAY to all! Gobble Gobble!

(click on photo to enlarge)
2010 collage 01_

Much love,

2 responses to “A day of giving thanks.

  • BURTON54

    How come there’s only 3 photos with me in it!? :(…

  • canucklehead07

    @Burton54 – Dude, don’t be sad. I’m not gonna upload every single pic of me & you into that collage. Do you know how giant the collage would be? LOL. Gigantomundo! I’d totally have to make a separate one just for us.
    Btw, the photos were randomly generated into the collage so it’s not like I knew which pictures were gonna be in it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

