2009: Here’s lookin’ at you kid!

 

What a year it’s been! I don’t know about you, but 2009 treated me pretty well. I’d say probably one of the best years I’ve had inside this decade. In retrospect, I can’t remember a lot of it – somehow. Nonetheless, I know 2009 was a goody.

Without further ado, here’s a final look at my most favourite and memorable moments of 2009!

 

Snow, snow, and more snow!

While the rest of Canada hadn’t yet received even an inch of snow, Mother nature dropped a wallop of snow on the West Coast. We were knee deep in Vancouver, literally.

Despite all the snow, the mountains left us with an amazing snowboard/ski season. Of course, I took advantage of our local mountains.

30 Cypress Mountain | Group

Cypress Mountain

 

Summer Heat wave

With early snowfall, comes a heat wave I will never forget. It was our turn to laugh at the rest of Canada. As they suffered through never-ending rain pours, floods, and cold, Vancouver was baking under the sun.

Fun times were had in the summer of ‘09.

BBQs, beach chill outs, PNE days, kayaking, hiking, biking, golfing, tennis-ing, and more!

 

The Weekend to End Breast Cancer fundraiser

My friends, Puma, ApuTheFish, and I – aka Team A.M.P. – decided to participate in the Weekend to End Breast Cancer. The object was to endure a two-day 60km walk to raise money to find a cure for breast cancer and other women’s cancers. Unfortunately, we never made our $6000 fundraising goal; thus, we were unable to participate in the journey.

We still had a tonne of fun working together to achieve our goal. Organizing our fundraising events were stressful and our training sessions were tiring, but we had good times. Most importantly, I learned a lot about each other: our work ethic, resilience, and friendship.

Thanks again to those who sponsored us!

02 005

014 034

011

 

Birthdays!

In 2009, I turned 23. Too old, yet still too young. It’s the uncool age, I think. I’m the middle runt of all my friends; this year, my closest friends ranged from 21 to 25. Yeah, we’re a crazy bunch – that’s why I love ‘em.

002

 

Twilight in Vancouver

How could this list of memories exist without my mention of Twilight? It can’t. Honestly, the 2nd and 3rd instalments of the Twilight Saga: New Moon and Eclipse being filmed in my hometown really made 2009 extra special.

Some would call me obsessed. I beg to differ. I wasn’t one of those people who would go out each and everyday looking for sets or hunting for the actors. I was lucky, really. I practically had to step into my backyard, so to speak, and I could stumble upon the Twilight actors.

Doing this was a lot easier when New Moon was filmed here in the Spring. No one cared too much that the actors were in town. You could probably only see two or three paparazzi or autograph hounds walking around at the most! The bigger stars like Taylor Lautner and Robert Pattinson could easily walk around without getting attacked.

In the Summer, everything changed. Taylor, Rob, and Kristen Stewart were on lockdown. Paparazzi, autograph hounds, and crazed Twilight fans from all around the world flocked to Vancouver when the 3rd instalment started filming just so they can catch a glimpse of their favourite star.

New Moon was actually fun in Vancouver. My partner-in-crime, TayloredMyPants, and I would always have lunch once a week in downtown – a weekly ritual if you will. After lunch, we’d take a walk and BOOM we’d see one of the actors.

 

Rachelle LeFevre | New Moon 0409 

 

Eclipse was a different story. It wasn’t easy seeing any of the actors. However, TMP and I – during lunch – saw Peter Facinelli (Dr. Carlisle Cullen). It was the first day the cast was in town for Eclipse and no one knew they were here yet. Peter was merely 50 metres away from us. We decided not to approach him and we gave him his peace because we knew that his peace and sanity may go out the window the very next day. On a couple of occasions though, I saw Elizabeth Reaser (Esme Cullen), Nikki Reed (Rosalie Hale), Kellan Lutz (Emmett Cullen) and Cameron Bright (Alec); again, not approaching either of them. However, one day while shopping with my mom downtown, I spotted "the humans" and decided to actually get my picture taken with them.

 03a 

Basically, Twilight was a huge part of my 2009. Without it, the year would have been completely different. It wasn’t all about seeing the stars, I actually made new friends and acquaintances that I see from time to time during various other gatherings. Shout outs to RobbedMyHeart, Malicious Mandy, VampireMonkey99, LadyDispatcher, and everyone else who I’ve met throughout this whole ordeal!

 

Music – the food for my soul

The past year was an epic one for live shows AND for burning a hole through my wallet. Being a full-time student, it’s difficult to get out and watch live music when you barely even have a day off. However this year, if there was someone I really wanted to see, I had to go – no ifs, ands, or buts about it (maybe that’s why my GPA in ‘09 suffered? LOL).

Without a doubt, there was no way I was going to miss my favourites Jason Mraz and the Kings of Leon while they were in town.

This year I was opened to a door of new musicians. Most of the gigs I attended were at smaller venues and clubs, a far cry from my usual concerts at arenas like GM Place. Those were probably my most memorable shows.

Kings of Leon

046a 051a 055a

065068082

 

Jason Mraz with Bushwalla and K’Naan

011pb 019pb 027pb

053pb 071pb 096pb

Bobby Long

 015pb 028pb

042pb 048pb

 

100 Monkeys with The Orphans and Thee Manipulators

008pb009pb035pb023pb

090pb126pb111pb

137pb123pb132pb

 

Justin Nozuka

064072107

110122a131

 

Sam Bradley
(photos taken on five separate occasions)

 

 

Hockey, eh!

They don’t call me canucklehead for nothin’ ya know. It seemed like anything I did in ‘09 revolved around hockey, specifically the Vancouver Canucks and some of the team members. See, I’m kind of best friends with some of them (or at least in my mind).

From watching the Vancouver Giants 2008-2009 season playoffs, invites to Vancouver Canucks private practices, meet-and-greets with Alex Burrows and Kyle Wellwood, being bff’s with Kevin Bieksa and Mason Raymond, getting to watch almost all of the Canucks’ December ‘09 games on home ice, to volunteering at GM Place, I can honestly say hockey was good to me in 2009.

11120913

10111116 

bieksa-cutout2828a

 

 

Friends – my 2nd family

I don’t know how I’d survive 2009 without you all. From the random hang outs, long talks, tears and jeers, there was never a dull moment.

The latter third of ‘09 was especially unforgettable. You all know why, I’ll just leave it at that.

You were hanging in the corner
With your five best friends…

Andrea, Sara, Erica, Mia, and Ivy – thank you for making my 2009 super memorable.

It is now 2010 and so let’s raise our proverbial glasses in a toast to making the best of the New Year.

Love you long time!

Year2009

2 responses to “2009: Here’s lookin’ at you kid!

  • Ivy

    ❤ it Mila!!!!! Can't wait to make more memories with you this year!! Hopefully in the sun while NOT shopping for winter jackets… lol

  • TayloredMyPants

    U made me cry, Mila! 2009 would not have been as amazing and hilarious if you weren’t there to share my retarded, awkward moments with. Love you lots and like I said before- 2010 IS GONNA BE STEAK SAUCE!!!

Leave a Reply

